Miller Jackson

Unido: 28.abr.2018 Última actividad: 07.jun.2023 iNaturalist

Hi everyone! I'm Miller, I'm 16 years old, and I live in Chicago, Illinois. I've been interested in birds, mushrooms, butterflies, and really all of nature for as long as I can remember, but I started to seriously get into birdwatching when I was 7 or 8. My Bubbie is the main reason I'm a birdwatcher, as she was one herself.

While birdwatching is one of my favorite hobbies, physics is my true passion, and I'll gladly talk your ear off about it. When I'm not in school, working on physics, or cramming for Science Olympiad (scioly kids unite!), I'm usually out in nature, or at least whatever nature my neighborhood has to offer.

If it's in nature, I'll probably take an interested to it. Wildflowers, dragonflies, turtles, bees, they're all beautiful! Aside from birds, fungi and butterflies are some of my favorite taxa to explore. The non-bird observations I make, however, will usually be left at a more general ID until someone more experienced than I am comes along.

If I make any mistakes in identifying other observations, please let me know. I have much to learn and I occasionally rush through observations.

I take my photographs with a Nikon D3500, usually with a new 70-300 mm lens. My mother used to be a professional photographer, so I still have a lot to learn from her.

Some of my favorite birdwatching spots are the Magic Hedge bird sanctuary in Chicago, the Brownfield bog in Brownfield, Maine, (and really most of Denmark, Maine), and Wynnewood valley park in Wynnewood, Pennsylvania.

My profile picture is me and "chippy" from a few a few years ago, an Eastern Chipmunk in Maine that loved me for some reason.

As of 12/23/2021, I've had 1,000 observations!!!

Join the unofficial iNat discord group (! There's always something fun going on there, you can get help with IDs, and you'll make wonderful friends just as nerdy about nature as you.

Stay safe, get vaccinated, and wear a mask!

Ver todas